Men’s Rugby: Pool schedule announced for USA Rugby College 7s National Championship

Men's Rugby - USA Rugby Pool Play announcement

GLENDALE, Colo. – The Norwich University men's rugby team found out who it will face in pool play on Saturday, May 20 at the 2017 USA Rugby Division II College 7s National Championship. 

The Cadets were seeded sixth overall out of the 12-team field and have drawn defending national champion Principia (Ill.), Southern Conn. State and Hartford as their three pool play opponents. 

Norwich (11-7) will face Southern Conn. State at 9:20 a.m. Mountain Time (11:20 a.m. Eastern) on Saturday to kick off the tournament. The Cadets will then face Hartford at 1:40 p.m. Mountain (3:40 p.m. Eastern) and then they wrap up the day facing Principia at 5 p.m. Mountain (7 p.m. Eastern). 

There are three pools of four teams each with the top two teams in each pool, as well as two wild card teams advancing to the eight-team Cup knockout round. 

Norwich is in Pool A, while UNC Charlotte, Drexel, North Carolina State and UT-San Antonio comprise Pool B. Pool C consists of St. Louis, UW-Whitewater, Endicott and William Patterson. 

UW-Whitewater won the USA Rugby Division II 15s national championship in the fall. The Warhawks beat Norwich in the semifinals en route to the title. The Cadets finished third in the 15s national championship after bouncing back to defeat three-time defending national champion Minnesota-Duluth in the third-place match. 

Norwich qualified for the USA Rugby Division II 7s National Championship for the first time in program history by winning the New England Collegiate Rugby Conference (NECRC) 7s title in Kingston, R.I. on April 23. The Cadets have had a storybook 2016-17 season, going undefeated in NECRC play in both 15s and 7s matches. 

You can watch live video of every match of the 2017 USA Rugby Division II Collegiate 7s on the www.therugbychannel.tv